As a condition of participation in Medicare and Medicaid, providers must meet four core elements of the CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule.  The Tristate Disaster Preparedness Coalition will use this newsletter to cover the four core elements of this rule in this, and upcoming newsletters.

  1. Risk Assessment and Emergency Plan
  2. Policies and Procedures
  3. Communication Plan
  4. A training and testing program

The first core element in the CMS Emergency Preparedness rule is an Emergency Plan.  Each facility type is to develop a plan based on a risk assessment using an “all hazards” approach, which is an integrated approach focusing on capacities and capabilities critical to preparedness for a full spectrum of emergencies and disasters. Some of the topic covered in an Emergency Plan includes (but are not limited to)

  • Hazards likely in geographic area
  • Care-related emergencies
  • Equipment and Power failures
  • Interruption in Communications, including cyber attacks
  • Loss of all/portion of facility
  • Loss of all/portion of supplies
  • Plan is to be reviewed and updated at least annually

Other types of requirements that are specific to certain provider types are:

  • Account for missing residents
  • Must develop plan with assistance from fire, safety experts
  • Address location, use of alarm systems and signals
  • Methods of containing fire