Select Page

Christa Hyson, MPH
Senior Manager, External Relations
(513) 247-5254


The Health Collaborative Names 2019 INSPIRE | Healthcare Award Winners

Providers and community stakeholders celebrate achievements in improving care at region’s best healthcare party


CINCINNATI – Those who have made significant contributions in improving health and healthcare in Greater Cincinnati were recognized on November 6 at the 2019 Inspire | Healthcare Awards Celebration. The Health Collaborative recognized excellence in the Greater Cincinnati region in the areas of quality improvement, population health, healthcare technology, and diversity & inclusion in front of a sold-out crowd of over 400 at the Hilton Netherland Plaza in the Hall of Mirrors.


The following individuals and organizations were honored:


The Inspire | Healthcare Champion Award is awarded to an organization or individual who has demonstrated collaboration, engagement, and innovation toward the mission of improving health and healthcare. This year’s winner, Dolores Lindsay, Founder, President and CEO of The HealthCare Connection, was chosen for her long-standing commitment to providing quality care for all.


The Diversity and Inclusion Award celebrates the individual or organization committed to inclusiveness and advocacy for under-represented and minority populations and for people of diverse cultures, backgrounds, and experiences in its overall policies, practices, and partnerships. This year’s winner, Juliann C. Parker, SOGI Project Manager at The Christ Hospital Health Network, was selected for her dedication and ongoing efforts to drive positive changes for the LGBTQ+ Community.


The Gen-H Award recognizes an individual, team, or organization that has demonstrated progress on to create a region that is healthy by design. This year’s winner, Mercy Serves Program, a Partnership Between Mercy Health and AmeriCorps was selected for their creation of a unique partnership that combats stigma, and saves lives.


The Healthcare Technology Award acknowledges the individual, team, or organization that has applied data, notification products, or business intelligence to create a solution to an ongoing challenge. This year’s winner, the TriHealth Corporate Health Team, was selected for its work in applying consumer science methodologies to increase healthy behaviors and outcomes.


First presented in 2003 in memory of Dr. Richard Smith, a tireless leader and proponent of the safety of all patients, the Richard M. Smith Leadership in Quality Improvement Award is given to the individual or team that has gone above & beyond normal job expectations to identify an opportunity to improve patient care and safety. Brad Mathis, MD, CAUTI Project, UC Health was awarded this year for his patient outcomes and dedication to advancing the Quality Improvement process.


Hoxworth Blood Center Annual Blood Drive Awards

Each hospital who participates in the blood drive program is eligible to win. Nominations are not accepted as the winners are selected by Hoxworth based upon performance. This year, one organization received BOTH the Award of Distinction and the Most Improved Award.


Hoxworth Award of Distinction – Each year, hospitals are assigned goals of blood units to collect. The Award of Distinction is given to the hospital that is most outstanding for blood collection efforts. Winner: TriHealth Corporate Office, Norwood


Most Improved Award – The Most Improved Award is a simple comparison of which hospital improved most over its previous year’s blood collection effort. Winner: TriHealth Corporate Office, Norwood


Hoxworth Blood Drive Coordinator of the Year – The Blood Drive Coordinator of the Year highlights the person (or team) that went above and beyond to help with their individual hospital’s blood drive campaign, demonstrating outstanding leadership in blood drive coordination. Winner: Carol Moorhead, System Blood Bank Manager, Inpatient and Outpatient Phlebotomy Manager, St. Elizabeth Healthcare (Covington, Edgewood, Florence, Ft. Thomas)


View photos of the evening on The Health Collaborative’s Facebook pageTo learn more about the Inspire | Healthcare Celebration and Awards Ceremony, please visit




About Inspire | Healthcare:

Inspire | Healthcare is the Greater Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky region’s premier annual healthcare event and awards celebration. The awards seek to recognize innovations by individuals, teams, and/or organizations in the areas of informatics, quality improvement, population health, and diversity & inclusion. Other awards given annually include the Inspire Champion Award and the Hoxworth Blood Drive Awards. For more information about Inspire | Healthcare, visit


About The Health Collaborative:
The Health Collaborative is a non-profit organization that leads data-driven improvements that result in healthier people, better care and lower costs. For more information about The Health Collaborative, visit

2019 Inspire | Healthcare Awards Celebration Photo Gallery